Skip to content

DADDY

January 15, 2014

When I was 5 years old, my hero was my father and to-date, he is my hero.  I have admired so many people and learnt from so may- teachers, famous personalities- Subash Chandra Bose, Bhagat Singh, Guru Gobind Singh, Guru Nanak Dev, Swami Vivekanand, Raja Ram Mohan Roy, Neil Armstrong and so on.                     My father is the elder son (though not the eldest child). After his marriage to my mother, he took under his care his younger siblings and being a income tax law advisor the responsibility of the businesses of the entire joint family (my grandfather had two brothers). He is a hardworking and a generous man who is always ready to help others at his own expense.He managed to make a name for himself and money. In late 70’s ,he developed cataract in his left eye. The lens transplant operation in 1980 went wrong. In 1980’s  he had two cornea transplant operations which were unsuccessful. His left eye was now an open wound. Despite his health problems and other personal problems, he kept going on and as per our  Hindu family  did his duty towards his children and the rest of the family. In 2000’s, he developed glaucoma in his other eye and soon he lost  almost 85% sight in that eye too. That and all other medical problems made him give up his profession but he still looks after my mother, who is a cancer patient. Most of his family ,whom he adored and looked after has turned hostile.                                                       As I grew up, I realised like other humans he had several failings but his determination to live and do his duty, come what may, has always inspired me. My relationship with him has been, at times, been turbulent but I would feel lost without him.100_2270DSCN0821

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Beautiful dedication..I hope I can inspire my daughter and raise her the same as your father did, Thank you so much for visiting my blog yesterday 🙂

    • You have a beautifully designed blog. I,too, have a daughter. They are the most affectionate persons but they grow up too fast. All the best.

      • That they do, far too quickly and before we realize it they are getting ready to face the world. Sigh!

  2. Lovely tribute–I too, just wrote about my dad as my hero! I love the painting too–did you do that? Gail {BTW, I can’t get your “like” button to work on your site…but I do “like” this!]

Leave a Reply

NORTH INDIA KALEIDOSCOPE

News and views dedicated to Kosen Rufu

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

W.H. SIM PHOTOGRAPHY

life through my lens, and in my words

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

