Skip to content

BIDDING ADIEU

May 29, 2014

I had so many ideas about this theme and was planning photographs accordingly but there is always a twist in the tale!                                                                                           During the dust storm that hit our city on Sunday afternoon, the hibiscus tree in my backyard was uprooted. It fell silently taking care not to crush anything under it. Considerate to the last!                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      In the six years we have lived in this house, its brilliant red flowers have brightened up even the gloomiest of days. It stood tall, its uppermost branches waving with the breeze as if reaching out to touch the sky. This tree was the subject of many of my paintings and photographs. Not only I will miss it but also the squirrels that scampered up and down its trunk in search of food and many of its feathered friends, especially the purple sun bird pair that drank nectar from its flower and used the tree as a vantage point to see if it was safe to enter their nest where they are rearing their two chicks.                              Good bye, dear friend and thank you for your gifts. DSCN3524??????????DSCN2836????????????????????

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Sorry to hear that you lost your Hibiscus tree. It’s almost like losing a loved one. I feel for you!

    • Thank you. The mindless cutting of trees has laid mother earth bare. Whenever I see any plant dying or being cut, I feel we are hurtling towards a very hot,dry, dusty desert- like future.

      • I hope you are mistaken. Plant another tree. That’s what I do. At least one a year. Sometimes I plant several. I usually get them where they will be torn down by large machinery along ditches or whatever. Don’t give up. We need to fight hard and strong. Nature has a way of healing. And regrowth is nature’s way of keeping on. Hugs to you my friend.

      • Thank you. I try to plant two fruit trees instead so that the bird have place to nest and rest and food.

  2. What a touching story about your beautiful tree. To ease the pain, perhaps plant another and watch it grow. Grow where you are planted.

    • Thank you. Yes, I have planned to plant a few trees , I am waiting for the monsoon rains which will be here in a week or so.

Leave a Reply

NORTH INDIA KALEIDOSCOPE

News and views dedicated to Kosen Rufu

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

W.H. SIM PHOTOGRAPHY

life through my lens, and in my words

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

