Skip to content

BOOKS AND BOOKS!

September 22, 2014

We have a tradition of passing not only jewellery, clothes (heavy silks richly adorned or traditionally woven) but also utensils, hand made dolls, embroidered linen and some personal items from mother to daughters and daughters-in-law.

My mother was not only fond of reading but also telling stories. She inspired not only her children but also her grandchildren and others to read. Her collection of books could rival that of a library. Non- fiction, religious, dictionaries and fiction found place in her daily reading material. From regional authors (translated into Hindi) Bankim Chander Chattopadhyay, Rabindernath Tagore, Munshi Premchand to George Bernard Shaw, Shakespeare, Wilkie Collins, Daphne du Maurier and so on to Leo Tolsty, Maxim Gorky to O. Henry, Victor Hugo.

Her all favorite book was Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. She had more than one copy of the book, which she always carried with her, even to the hospital.

She will always be remembered by one and all for the stories she read out from Chandrakanta and Chandrakanta Santati  novels by Devki Nandan Khatri.  My brothers and I, all 3 of us wanted to have that set of books.

My mother has left all her books to me. She had also given me her collection of magazines (Women’s Weekly, Women’s Own, Women and Home from 50’s and 60’s), which helped in knitting, crafting and embroidery.

I am not a pack rat, contrary to what it appears. I constantly keep disposing off what I am not likely to use again.?????????? ?????????? ??????????

I also treasure the book gifted to me by my younger brother on the birth of my daughter. (4 years later he, himself, was blessed with a daughter).??????????

One of the most enduring possession is a small drawing board we bought in 1973. It was broken into 2 after a fall but put together by a clever carpenter (God bless him)DSCN3993

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. georgiakevin permalink

    What a delightful loving blog! Your blog is so well worth reading.

  2. Beautiful memories of a lovely woman. Lucky you for having had her as your mother…

    • Thank you. Yes, she was a wonderful woman. Despite a very hard life, she always put on a cheerful face and there was a small, innocent child alive in her.

  3. that is quite a treasure that your mother left to you.

    • I agree. The only problem is we live in a rented house and our own home would be a tiny flat with probably no storage space.

  4. Lovely remembrance of your mother. I used to buy the same magazines. The last Women’s Weekly I bought was in 2002. I left off. Before shifting here I disposed books, and magazines, but I couldn’t gave away Women’s Weekly mags (the rest I did), my life time worth of them. One of my friend was terribly disappointed, cause she had specifically came for it. Unlike you, I think my daughter when she comes after I die, she will throw them out.

    • It is very difficult to maintain a library at home these days because of space problem. In weather conditions like ours, books and magazines need to be aired and dusted regularly (especially old ones) and checked for mites and white ants. Too much work for some and also most people who come to our house make fun of what they term as ‘raddhi'(junk) stacked in a number of book racks and cartons.

      • I know. When my husband was alive, he used to despair over my books, and magazines. After his death I gave away my hoard. Now only WW is left.

      • That’s sad. I hope you enjoy whatever issues of WW you have with you.

Leave a Reply

NORTH INDIA KALEIDOSCOPE

News and views dedicated to Kosen Rufu

Zero Creativity Learnings

In Design and Arts

W.H. SIM PHOTOGRAPHY

life through my lens, and in my words

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

